How Long Does A Speeding Ticket Stay On Your Record?

A police officer getting a driver's license from a driver he stopped for speeding.

Imagine that you took the interstate from Alaska to California but didn’t know that the speed limit changed once you reached the West Coast. Before long, a police cruiser turns on its sirens and pulls you over for speeding. This serves as an important reminder that speed limits can fluctuate across states and regions within our country.

That’s not all. Apart from the fines, you may be ordered to go through a driver safety course and learn how to drive responsibly. Not only will this incident stay on your driving record, but it can also lead to higher car insurance premiums when insurers review your quotes for renewal.

Other possible punishments may include license suspension and monetary fines to reinstate your license.

There is nothing beneficial about being caught speeding; it’s only ever a financial burden. To prevent this from becoming part of your permanent driving record, you should make sure to take the necessary steps to have these tickets dismissed as soon as possible.

Is it possible to get a speeding ticket removed from your driver’s license? Here, we’ll discuss how long the infraction might remain on your official record and which state laws govern these violations. We will give you all the information you need to make an informed choice about whether or not to try to get this kind of traffic violation taken off your record.

How Long Does A Speeding Ticket Stay On Your Driving Record?

A police officer using a speed radar gun.

State laws decide how long a speeding ticket will stay on your record. Some states have clear-cut statutes regulating when the infraction must be removed from your history, while others permit its removal after some time while retaining a record of the offense.

On the other hand, certain states take traffic violations more seriously. As a result, they prohibit any form of removal or erasure from an individual’s driving record.

Certain states set a time limit for how long a speeding ticket is recorded on your driver’s license. Most of the time, this ranges from one to ten years, which is a huge difference in how long your infraction will stay on your record.

Keep in mind, though, that the time given only applies to people who get a single speeding ticket. Further traffic violations can either extend or even continuously keep your license suspended due to a nationwide points system.

It’s important to know what happens when you get a speeding ticket, so here we explain how each state handles them and how long a single infraction stays on your driver’s license. However,  keep in mind that if you have other citations or traffic violations, this could considerably prolong the amount of time that a speeding ticket stays on your driving record.


State by State, How Long Does A Speeding Ticket Stay On Your Record

State How Long A Speeding Ticket Stays On Your Record
Alabama 2 years, but the infraction will remain permanently on your record.
Alaska 1 year
Arizona 1 year
Arkansas 3 years
California 3 years, 3 months
Colorado You can’t remove the speeding ticket, but you can gradually reduce the points issued against you.
Connecticut 3 years
Delaware 2 years
District of Columbia 2 years
Florida 5 years
Georgia 2 years
Hawaii 10 years
Idaho 3 years
Illinois The length of time varies depending on the speed at which you were driving when you got the speeding ticket. However, it doesn’t go beyond 5 years.
Indiana 2 years
Iowa 5 years
Kansas 3 years
Kentucky 5 years, during which the speeding ticket stays on your driver’s license. However, the points can be removed after 2 years.
Louisiana 3 years
Maine 1 year
Maryland 3 years
Massachusetts 6 years
Michigan 7 years
Minnesota It varies, but it is usually no less than 5 years and no more than 10 years.
Mississippi 1 year
Missouri 3 years
Montana A conviction will remain on your driver’s license permanently. But the points assigned can be removed after 3 years.
Nebraska 5 years
Nevada A conviction will remain on your driver’s license permanently. But the points assigned can be removed after 1 year.
New Hampshire 3 years
New Jersey 5 years
New Mexico 1 year
New York 1 1/2 years
North Carolina 3 years
North Dakota 3 years
Ohio The incident remains permanently on your record, but a conviction can be suspended after 2 years.
Oklahoma It varies, but has a maximum of 3 years.
Oregon 2 years
Pennsylvania 1 year
Rhode Island 3 years
South Carolina 2 years
South Dakota 5 years; however, serious offenses stay on your record for 55 years.
Tennessee 2 years
Texas 3 years
Utah 3 years
Vermont 2 years
Virginia 5 years
Washington 5 years
West Virginia 5 years, but the points can be removed after 2 years.
Wisconsin 5 years
Wyoming 1 year

Explaining The Driver’s License Point System

A police officer writing a speeding ticket.

State officials work hard to make sure that drivers have clean driving records by keeping track of their progress and any past traffic violations. This encourages citizens to adhere to traffic rules, thus promoting safety on our roads.

As a result, state governments created a points system for moving violations that assigns demerit points to the driving records of those who have committed infractions or been issued tickets. The length of time these negative marks stay on one’s record depends on the state’s laws in place.

However, if you are cited for any other traffic violations in the future, the number of points will quickly add up. More and more points will be added to your driving record each time that you commit additional infractions of higher degrees.

Depending on the state, each time you violate traffic laws, you will receive a different number of points. One of these violations is going over the speed limit, which can cause you to get a lot of points very quickly. If your previous moving violations are added to this speeding ticket, it won’t be long before your driver’s license has quite a few demerit points. With this many points, it’s likely that any other violations will lead to higher fines and, if enough points accrue, a license suspension.

It’s important to note that you can eventually lessen the impact of these points if you abide by all traffic laws and stay away from further moving violations.

License Points For Other Traffic Tickets

If you speed, it’s not the only violation that will cost you points on your driver’s license; they are given out for all other kinds of traffic offenses too.

Depending on what state you broke the law in, the number of points you get for a traffic violation will be different. Furthermore, within each state, the number of points assigned to a particular reckless driving offense may vary.

The top offenses that can add demerit points to your driving record include:

On the whole, states will assign points to traffic violations based on their severity. It’s important to know that not every state keeps track of all traffic violations. This means that you could break the law in one state and get points, but this violation wouldn’t be on your record in another state.

Also, getting demerit points for a DUI may make it harder for you to get rid of points on your license from speeding tickets. If you accumulate enough points, you could face a license suspension that lasts anywhere from months to years. The state DMV might even revoke some driving privileges along with this punishment as well.

How A Speeding Ticket Affects Your Car Insurance Rates

Insurance companies are focused on risk management, so the moment you get convicted of a traffic violation, they might consider you a high-risk driver.

Ultimately, if you get caught speeding, your auto insurance company is likely to look at your contract and raise your rate. On average nationwide, this rate increase could be as high as $420 per year, which can make the total annual cost of car insurance skyrocket to around $2,100!

However, the actual figure for each person can vary significantly. Two key factors determine this. First, your insurance company’s general policy towards reckless driving will influence how they increase car insurance rates when you get a speeding ticket.

Auto insurance companies see speeding or related offenses as a major red flag and may consequently raise their premiums by several percentage points. For drivers who are already considered high-risk, this could have serious repercussions.

Everyone’s car insurance rate will differ due to various factors that auto insurers analyze. For example, if you just got your first speeding ticket or if it’s a common thing for you to do, as well as any other tickets you’ve gotten in the past and your overall driving record. Make sure you are always mindful of these considerations when determining how much money you’ll be paying for car insurance!

Second, the insurance company assesses how bad the violation was. For example, how many miles over the speed limit did you go? Lastly, these variables are considered along with the length of time that has passed since your last traffic violation.

By putting these things together, the insurance company can figure out if you’re a high-risk driver and how much your insurance premium needs to be to cover this risk.

States like Pennsylvania can be quite costly when it comes to auto insurance, and many insurance companies will hike up the rate if you get a speeding ticket. For example, the average car insurance rate in Pennsylvania is $1,750, but with just one speeding ticket, this number goes up by about $218!

States with lower car insurance rates on average include Alaska, Hawaii, Nebraska, New Mexico, Texas, Washington, and Washington, D.C.

Tips For Removing A Speeding Ticket From Your Record

Now that you are aware of the serious repercussions of a speeding ticket, it is time to take steps to remove it from your driving record. You can explore a few solutions:

— Defensive Driving Course

In some states, you can improve your driving skills and not get any points for a traffic violation if you take a DMV-approved defensive driving course. Here, you can learn ways to reduce risk and make better choices while driving.

The DMV permits specific private driving schools to administer these lessons and build a course you must pass. The number of hours required for completion may differ from state-to-state, but many now offer online classes as well.

If you pass the course, you can avoid having a speeding violation appear on your driving record.

— Plea To Lesser Offense

States understand that time is valuable and have developed alternative ways to quickly move on from minor traffic offenses. Rather than wasting hours in court, they are choosing more efficient solutions for handling such cases.

By admitting to a minor infraction, you can make it simpler for the court and likely receive only a light punishment. This technique is known as pleading guilty in exchange for reduced charges or “plea bargaining.” Consequently, you’ll be able to avoid having your speeding ticket on your driving record.

— Hire An Attorney

Make sure your evidence is strong before you go to court to fight a speeding ticket. Enlisting the help and advice of an attorney is strongly advised.

The Bottom Line

Sticking to the speed limit is the easiest way to avoid a costly speeding ticket, but sometimes people break the law unintentionally. In such cases, you risk facing issues with both your insurance company and state authorities. Subsequently, it’s important that you take all necessary steps to prevent incurring a driving offense in order to protect your record from harm.

Thankfully, there are numerous approaches to this problem. Enrolling in a defensive driving course, negotiating with the state government, and pleading your case in court are all viable options.

Frequently Asked Questions

How can I clean my driving record?

Wiping your record clean after getting a lot of tickets may seem daunting, but it is possible with the right strategy. There are a few legal and personal measures to take in order to accomplish this:


  1. Expungement of the Traffic Violations

In some states, the Department of Motor Vehicles (DMV) offers an opportunity for you to completely remove your speeding ticket from your driving record. In states where this is permitted, you will also have to meet other conditions, including taking a defensive driving course and avoiding any new traffic violations. If you fulfill these requirements, then this option is most likely available to you.


  1. Take a Defensive Driving Course

By taking this course, you’ll learn the most important rules of safe driving and show the DMV that you’re serious about being a good driver. Passing it shows that you take road safety seriously, and the violation will not go on your record. 


  1. Avoid Subsequent Offenses

If you truly wish to restore your driving record, it’s essential that you avoid any further traffic violations. If you don’t, fixing your driving record will be hard to do in the foreseeable future.


  1. Hire an Attorney

If you have a solid case for your speeding ticket, the most efficient course of action is to get an attorney who can advocate on your behalf in court. Depending on how well you’re represented, you might be able to win and get the charge dropped.

How much is a 20-over speeding ticket?

When a driver goes over the speed limit, the most common punishment is a fine, especially if it is one of their first two tickets. Nevertheless, states administer varying amounts of fines to drivers who are caught speeding.

Even within the same state, the amount of the fine for speeding can be different.

If a driver goes over the speed limit, the amount of their punishment will depend on the laws of their state and by how much they went over the posted limit. 

In Missouri, for example, if you go 6–10 mph over the speed limit, you will get a $99 ticket. But if you go 20-25 miles over the legal limit, be prepared to pay an additional $224 fee!

Exceeding the speed limit by 20 miles in New York will cost you a hefty $300 fine.

In Texas, speeding tickets can range from $200 up to $305 for driving over 20 miles above the limit. And in California, you’re looking at fines between $367 and a whopping $490 if you exceed the speed limit by more than 20 miles.

How does my car insurance company know about my speeding ticket?

Auto insurance companies always look at your Motor Vehicle Report (MVR) to learn about your driving history, whether you are getting a new policy or renewing an existing one.

Your driving history will show the insurance provider how you have conducted yourself on the road, including any infractions and whether or not you are a high-risk driver. This information is essential for determining your car insurance premium rate.

How can I save money on car insurance if I have a speeding ticket?

If you have a speeding ticket, one way to save money on car insurance is to compare rates from different insurance providers. Some insurance companies will give you a discount if you take defensive driving courses or other programs to make you a better driver. You may also be able to get points removed from your license or ask the court for leniency in order to lower your rate. Lastly, use any group discounts you can get, such as those through your employer or a membership organization. By shopping around and being mindful of how long the ticket is likely to stay on your record, you can find the best policy at an affordable rate and minimize how much a speeding ticket affects your wallet.